A few words about bank holidays

 

Currently most of the British media ‘live’ with the entertainment news: finally, Prince William will be getting married in April 2011. The Prime Minister David Cameron backed the idea of a bank holiday for the royal wedding and said that it should be a day of “national celebration”. Obviously, I’m not against the next bank holiday as I love holidays, although I spend most of them in my work.

As we all know, a bank holiday is a special day when people celebrate religious or national events. The part of the UK I live in gets 10 days’ bank holidays. I may be cheeky when I say that many people do not know what they actually celebrate except for…St Patrick’s Day in mid-March even though this day is not designed for public holidays in England and Scotland.

During a quick search on the net I found an American website called ‘Holiday Jokes’. First on the list were ‘Christmas Jokes’, so I rushed to read them. Let’s see what I found: ‘What do you have in December that you don’t have in any other month? The letter ‘D’’, ‘Who delivers an elephant’s Christmas presents? Elephanta Claus.’ Next, I researched ‘Easter jokes’. There were some foolish Easter adverts; a few embarrassing quotes from sermons and plenty of jokes about…old age. I don’t have an idea how someone managed to link Easter holiday with senility: ‘The nice thing about being senile is you can hide your own Easter eggs’, ‘When you are young, you want to be the master of your fate and the captain of your soul. When you are older, you will settle for being the master of your weight and the captain of your bowling team’.

Well, my little research gave me some hope. Maybe I went too far with my judgement? Anyway, some of William’s huge fans probably won’t stop crying until the April holidays.


Leave a comment

Filed under Society

Leave a comment